Murray State University

Murray State University Arthur J. Bauernfeind College Of Business

Murray State University Logo

Murray State University

Murray State University (abbreviated MSU) is a public university institution with its main campus located in Murray, Kentucky (Calloway County).

Extended “satellite” campus locations may be found Paducah, Hopkinsville, Madisonville, and Henderson.

Central Campus

The main portion of campus lies between 15th Street, Chestnut Street, and Olive Boulevard. Over the years this section of 15th Street has been closed to normal transportation and is now for pedestrian thoroughfare.

The Martha Layne Collins Center for Industry and Technology, Blackburn Science Building and Oakley Applied Science Building can be found along the west side of 15th Street.

On the east side we find the Curris Center, Carr Health Building, Cutchin Fieldhouse, Waterfield Library, Ordway Hall, Woods Hall and Mason Hall.

West Campus

Named after former MSU president Kern Alexander we have Alexander Hall. This building kicked off a massive renovation and expansion of the MSU campus on the west side of 16th Street near Calloway Ave.

This new building set the architectural tone of the Campus for future projects. Additional science buildings were constructed over a span of 13 years starting with the Biology building opening in 2004 and the latest physics and engineering wing being completed in the summer of 2017.


Most of the universities sports facilities are found along the northern edge of the campus near the KY-121 Bypass. The Roy Stewart Stadium is the largest structure and home to the MSU Racers football program.

In 1998 the CFSB Center, home of the men’s and women’s basketball teams, was built.

Murray Cfsb Center Racers


MSU has 11 associate, 64 bachelor, and 42 master/specialist programs that are administered via four colleges, two schools and approximately 30 departments (with one program shared between the College of Business and the College of Science, Engineering and Technology).

The largest college at MSU is the College of Business; accounting for approximately 23% of undergraduate enrollment.

MSU has been continuously accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges since 1928.

8 schools in Kentucky have achieved the AACSB accreditation of business programs; Murray State is one of those schools.

Murray State is best known for its OSHA and Teaching programs. I’m partial to the Computer Science program myself as it helped me lay the foundations for starting my own web design agency.

Did you know MSU has a museum on campus? Learn more about the Wrather West Kentucky Museum here.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

Tell us a bit about your Business

Fill in your details and we’ll get back to you in no time.